Merrittville Speedway

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
Schools Out for Summer Canada Day Celebration

Schools Out for Summer Canada Day Celebration

DIRTcar West Region Sportsman and Double Features

Tim Hortons presents Wreckfest 2024

Tim Hortons presents Wreckfest 2024

Ontario's Only Full Size School Bus Demo

Canada's Longest Running Dirt Track

Canada's Longest Running Dirt Track

73 Years of Saturday Night Entertainment



Merrittville Speedway


THOROLD, Ontario (June 8th, 2024) … While mother nature brought racing on Niagara Pen Centre night to an early end, two drivers still scored their first career feature race wins. The Rona Doidge Modified Lites were scheduled to run a double feature to make up a race from May 18ths fogged out night. Ryan Anderson of Port Colborne, Ontario scored his first win in the Mod Lites. While the Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4-cylinder feature was shortened to 11 laps due to rain fall, with Hana Rothwell out front to claim her first checkered flag.

Sean Iftody and Leroy Buscumb began the Rona Doidge Modified Lite feature from the front row. Buscumb would unfortunately be the first caution of the race when he spun while running third, while Tyler Winger took the top spot in the field. While Winger spent most of the race out front, under green Ryan Anderson closed in on the leader, searching for an opportunity to make the winning pass. That opportunity came when Chris Watson spun out in the later portions of the race. On Lap 17, Anderson took the lead and drove away to his first ever Modified Lite win at Merrittville Speedway. Winger wound up second while Josh Sliter, Brent Begolo and Iftody finished in the top 5.

As inclement weather began to roll in at Merrittville Speedway, Blair Rousselle and Sierra Robison lead the field to green in the Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinders. As some droplets started to hit the clay, Tina Ronning went for a slide in turn 2 bringing out the first yellow. Ray Cerenzia took an early lead and brought the field back to green. Hana Rothwell quickly moved her way towards the front from 12th starting spot, taking the lead with just 6 to go. On lap 11, the skies opened forcing the field under caution before track officials called the race completely, handing Rothwell her first ever win. She bested Cerenzia, Ken Hair, Randy Alway, and John Lubeck.

While the Family Autograph Session was postponed to June 29th, racing does return to Merrittville Speedway next Saturday as CAA Niagara and Auto FX Graphics and Signs presents Nostalgia and our Wall of Fame Induction Ceremony. The Commercial Auto Electric 358 Modifieds will contest the 50 lap Jerry Winger Memorial, while the Semenuks Esso/Baron Roofing DIRTcar Sportsman run the 35 lap Al Willard Memorial. The Rona Doidge Modified Lites, Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinders and Vintage Cars will also be on the bill. Pit Gates on Monday will open at 5pm, with grandstands opening at 5:30pm, and racing will get underway at 7pm. For more information, visit and can follow the action on My Race Pass.

Follow Merrittville on social media including Facebook (, Twitter (@Merrittville), and now on Instagram (@merrittvillespeedway). For results, point standings, and more, check out

RACE RESULTS –- June 8th, 2024.

Rona Doidge Modified Lites (Rescheduled from May 18th) – RYAN ANDERSON, Tyler Winger, Josh Sliter, Brent Begolo, Sean Iftody, R.J. Pietz, Jamie Gilbert, Ashton Anderson, Anthony Kelly, Dave Cornish, Leroy Buscumb, Chris Watson, Cole Hardy, Cohen Corbett, Craig Martin, Ryleigh Sliter, Nick Sarantakos, Chance Kotar, Roger Pardis, Tyler Colbert

Vansickle Pet Valu/PV on the Lane 4 Cylinders – HANA ROTHWELL, Ray Cerenzia, Ken Hair, Randy Alway, John Lubeck, Joshua Dmytrow, Mason Anderson, Alex Riley, Olivier Larocque, Rob Goulding, Craig Vlasic, Sam Iftody, Clinton Barrick, Nathan Joyner, Cierra Keus, Blair Rousselle, Richard Hadler, Matt Christie, Braden Keus, Sierra Robison, Roger Winfield, James Marshall, John Trivieri, Kallie Akins, Tina Ronning, Dave Wininger, Austyn Werstroh

Qualifying Heats – Ray Cerenzia, Mason Anderson, John Lubeck

Commercial Auto Electric 358 Modifieds –

Qualifying Heats – Gary Lindberg, Luke Carleton, Darrell Farraway

Semenuk’s Esso/Baron Roofing DIRTcar Sportsman –

Qualifying Heats – Matt Sharpe, Daniel McKay, Matteo Panunte

Hoosier Stocks –

Qualifying Heats – Jim Lampman, Jason Fontaine

Article Credit: Jonathon Howe

Submitted By: Jonathon Howe

Back to News

Ticket Info

For Regular Events, Pricing is as Follows
Grandstands Admission
Adults: $20.00
Seniors 60 yrs & up: $18.00
Youth 13-18yrs: $16.00
Kids 8-12 : $8.00
Under 7 years: FREE
Pits Admission: $40.00
5 & Under Pit Admission: $20.00

Super Dirt Week

Latest Photos

Latest Videos

Brian Stevens Memorial-358 Modifieds
Sportsman Feature
Hoosier Stock Feature
4 Cylinder Feature
358 Modified Feature
Hoosier Stock Feature
Bobcat of Hamilton
Corr Pak
Right Choice Auto
Hooiser Tire
Rona Doidge
Pet Valu
VP Race Fuels